Skip to navigation
Skip to main content
Skip to footer

To give you the best and most secure online experience possible, our website uses cookies. Continue to use the website if you're happy with this, or find out how to manage cookies.

Why choose John Lewis Travel Insurance?

Essential Cover

Our Essential Cover includes:

  • £1,000 Cancellation Cover
  • £2m Emergency Medical Expenses
  • £300 Travel Delay.
Plus Cover

Our Plus Cover includes:

  • £5,000 Cancellation Cover
  • £1,500 for Personal Belongings
  • £500 for Money and Documents.

Premier Cover

Our Premier Cover includes:

  • £8,000 Cancellation Cover
  • £10m Emergency Medical Expenses
  • £2,500 for Personal Belongings.
Get a quote
Any questions?
Please call us on
0800 953 2552


Discover some of the key features of John Lewis Travel Insurance.

Tick

Save up to 20% when you buy online

Tick

We'll pay to replace your possessions with our New for Old
Personal Belongings Cover. (Optional for Essential policies).

Tick

Money and documents, we provide cover for loss or theft of money and important travel documents, including passports (Plus and Premier Cover)***.

Tick

Extra protection on the slopes with Optional Winter Sports Cover**.

Get a quote

Find the answers to some of the most common questions about Travel Insurance.

Does an age limit apply to this policy?

John Lewis Annual Multi-Trip Travel Insurance is only available to people under 74 years old. There’s no upper age limit on our Single Trip Travel Insurance.

If I have a pre-existing medical condition, will you cover me?

For Plus or Premier Cover, John Lewis Travel Insurance can cover a wide variety of pre-existing medical conditions as long as you make us aware of them when you take out your policy. We may decline any claim or part of any claim directly or indirectly relating to a medical condition which was not disclosed and accepted by us at the time of taking out the policy or during the duration of the policy.

If you choose Essential cover, your policy will not provide cover for any pre-existing medical conditions.

For a close relative, business associate, or travel companion who is not insured but whose health may affect the trip, you might not be covered for any claim that’s related to their condition.

Please refer to the ‘Pre-Existing Medical Conditions’ pages contained in the full Policy wording for terms and conditions.

What does an Annual Multi-Trip policy cover compared to a Single Trip policy?

Annual Multi-Trip policies give you cover for a period of one year and covers any trip during that period as long as it's less than 31 days.

Single Trip policies give you cover for one individual trip of up to six months.

Will my mobile phone be covered?

Unfortunately, we're unable to provide cover for your mobile phone or smartphone. We do offer optional Technology Cover for other gadgets you would like to take on holiday with you, including your tablet or laptop.

I have quite a lot of gadgets - will they all be covered?

We offer optional Technology Cover under our Plus and Premier Travel Insurance to protect laptops, tablets etc. Please note, mobile phones are excluded from Technology Cover. However, it covers you for up to an additional £2,500 of baggage including sports equipment.

What is Cancellation Cover?

If you have to cancel your holiday due to circumstances beyond your control (such as death, illness, jury service, home damage etc), you can claim up to £8,000 (Premier Cover) for costs you have paid or have to pay towards your trip. Cancellation Cover starts on the date of issue on your Policy Schedule and ends when you return home after your trip.

Is there a limit to the length of my holiday cover?

Yes, John Lewis Single Trip Travel Insurance covers a holiday up to six months long as long as you’re 64 or younger. If you’re 65 or over, the maximum trip length is 31 days.

For Annual Multi-Trip Cover, the maximum length of each trip is 31 days.

Get a quote
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Travel insurance I bought this prior to visiting Bavaria over the Christmas period. Not the cheapest on the market but I was happy to pay more for peace of mind that all eventuality, plus loss of money would be covered.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easily done Renewed previous annual insurance cover but only you after a break of two months due to a longer trip which would not have been covered as part of this deal. Unfortunately NOT offered such a good deal after the lapse.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Travel insurance
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Insurance Needed to buy a travel insurance policy but due to pre existing conditions had to make a phone call rather than book online. The adviser was very efficient dealt with my query promptly and honoured the discount I would have received had I booked it myself online. Great service.
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Straightforward transaction Really easy to understand and no fuss approach to my purchase
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super holiday insurance Moët cost effective cover including pre existing medical conditions
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Travel Insurance I bought a single trip policy for a European weekend break, good value for money and an excellent choice of cover levels
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from "Does what it says on the tin" I purchased travel insurance for a trip to Italy. I would have given 5 stars, if there had been cover for cancellation due to earthquakes in the area, the day before and the day we went! In the event, we decided to go... and there were several more, including the biggest earthquake since 1980. We would have been covered to come home, but we were only there 4 days ;) Other than that, all as you expect from JLP
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Insurance This is the second year that I have purchased travel insurance from John Lewis. I will carry on using.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible service Very expensive considering the poor service. Despite giving three weeks notice you failed to supply documents. I phoned to explain I hadn't received the document and was assured a new copy would be sent. Again failed. I had to travel with only a reference number. Policy arrived when I was away!
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value for money I bought annual travel insurance (Europe cover) online from John Lewis. By buying online you get a discount and I think it's very good value.
Date published: 2016-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick to buy online!
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from looks good Looks like a clear policy, although its rather long. Was easy to do on the internet and covers what I need. I have some health conditions so have been charged more, which all companies, based in some set questions that really don.t say anything about your state of health ie: does not ask what your Blood Pressure is just if you are on medication for it, if its working you would be less of a health risk, but still get charged more
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Did the job I bought insurance to cover a short trip to the US. I could have bought it cheaper elsewhere and, if I'm honest, I'm tempted to next time but did not trust the other sites I checked on this occasion. I did not need to claim but also chose JL because I felt it would be a smoother process in the event that I did. I would ideally have liked to have covered my laptop too but the cost was too high so I left it at home.
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No hassle holiday insurance. Great cover for a great price. Really simple to arrange online.
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great price and straightforward to set up I always find renewing travel insurance an onerous task, but having purchased some currency from JL, I discovered their travel insurance. It is so easy to set up with simple straightforward questions. It gives you the opportunity to decline cover for certain conditions, so that you can tailor the policy to fit your circumstances. An excellent product.
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great insurance I found it very easy to do quick and straight forward
Date published: 2016-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holiday insurance I took out travel insurance for my forthcoming holiday & was extremely pleased with the help & advice I received. I made an error with my on-line booking & didn't know how to correct it. The matter was sorted out for me with such kindness & ease.
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great insurance with transparent details Easy to understand details of the policy. Easy to apply on line Good rates with a trusted company
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good insurance The online experience was good although The medical considerations need to be clearer I had to add on to my insurance.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value Like all insurance you hope you will never have to find out how good it is! The process of purchasing was straightforward, with options highlighted, and benefits of one level of cover versus another made plain. Very competitive cost for levels of cover and easy to complete the purchase on-line.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good website East to use website. Have bought before, will buy again.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great savings on great Insurance. I now buy all my Insurance from John Lewis - Travel, Home and Car. In all instances staff took me easily through the mandatory questions, explaining their purpose. Particularly with travel, I found it useful to get insurance for more than one trip at a time, as I only had to answer the questions once. (I am over 80.)
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good comprehensive insurance Luckily I did not need to use travel insurance on my recent trip but I had a great piece of mind that it was there if I did need it
Date published: 2016-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Travel Insurance I lost my wallet and money. However I did call them on Monday and sent all documents the same day. Next day the claim was approved and money was settled in 3 days. Very fast and not complicated at all. All documents and response via email and great response. Not like other travel insurance providers who will take months to give even a single response.
Date published: 2016-10-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lack of customer contact with this on-line buy Bought on line as I trust John Lewis to offer good value for money. However, there is a lack of response when needed.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great and easy to understand I like the fact that family means any amount of children up to 21 in full time education.
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent insurance
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from holiday insurance good cover bought this product online,asked for copy to be posted to my address.never arrived had to phone again for another copy.
Date published: 2016-09-27
  • y_2017, m_1, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_188
  • loc_en_GB, sid_TRAVEL_Purchase_PLUS_UK, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jlpfinance
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.2.0.4
  • getReviews, method:CLOUD, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Feedback from our customers helps us offer you the best possible service. The reviews above outline the opinions of our customers, who are asked to consider a range of criteria and to give an overall rating. These views are those of individual customers and are based on their experience of their product, policies and received services.

shaded_divider
John Lewis Foreign Currency

**Plus and Premier policies only.

† Not available on optional extras. Discount is automatically applied to your quote.

*** Terms, conditions, limitations and exclusions apply.