Skip to navigation
Skip to main content
Skip to footer

To give you the best and most secure online experience possible, our website uses cookies. Continue to use the website if you're happy with this, or find out how to manage cookies.

Why choose John Lewis Travel Insurance?

Essential Cover

Our Essential Cover includes:

  • £1,000 Cancellation Cover
  • £2m Emergency Medical Expenses
  • £300 Travel Delay.
Plus Cover

Our Plus Cover includes:

  • £5,000 Cancellation Cover
  • £1,500 for Personal Belongings
  • £500 for Money and Documents.

Premier Cover

Our Premier Cover includes:

  • £8,000 Cancellation Cover
  • £10m Emergency Medical Expenses
  • £2,500 for Personal Belongings.
Get a quote
Any questions?
Please call us on
0800 953 2552


Discover some of the key features of John Lewis Travel Insurance.

Tick

Save up to 20% when you buy online

Tick

We'll pay to replace your possessions with our New for Old
Personal Belongings Cover. (Optional for Essential policies).

Tick

Money and documents, we provide cover for loss or theft of money and important travel documents, including passports (Plus and Premier Cover)***.

Tick

Extra protection on the slopes with Optional Winter Sports Cover**.

Get a quote

Find the answers to some of the most common questions about Travel Insurance.

Does an age limit apply to this policy?

John Lewis Annual Multi-Trip Travel Insurance is only available to people under 74 years old. There’s no upper age limit on our Single Trip Travel Insurance.

If I have a pre-existing medical condition, will you cover me?

For Plus or Premier Cover, John Lewis Travel Insurance can cover a wide variety of pre-existing medical conditions as long as you make us aware of them when you take out your policy. We may decline any claim or part of any claim directly or indirectly relating to a medical condition which was not disclosed and accepted by us at the time of taking out the policy or during the duration of the policy.

If you choose Essential cover, your policy will not provide cover for any pre-existing medical conditions.

For a close relative, business associate, or travel companion who is not insured but whose health may affect the trip, you might not be covered for any claim that’s related to their condition.

Please refer to the ‘Pre-Existing Medical Conditions’ pages contained in the full Policy wording for terms and conditions.

What does an Annual Multi-Trip policy cover compared to a Single Trip policy?

Annual Multi-Trip policies give you cover for a period of one year and covers any trip during that period as long as it's less than 31 days.

Single Trip policies give you cover for one individual trip of up to six months.

Will my mobile phone be covered?

Unfortunately, we're unable to provide cover for your mobile phone or smartphone. We do offer optional Technology Cover for other gadgets you would like to take on holiday with you, including your tablet or laptop.

I have quite a lot of gadgets - will they all be covered?

We offer optional Technology Cover under our Plus and Premier Travel Insurance to protect laptops, tablets etc. Please note, mobile phones are excluded from Technology Cover. However, it covers you for up to an additional £2,500 of baggage including sports equipment.

What is Cancellation Cover?

If you have to cancel your holiday due to circumstances beyond your control (such as death, illness, jury service, home damage etc), you can claim up to £8,000 (Premier Cover) for costs you have paid or have to pay towards your trip. Cancellation Cover starts on the date of issue on your Policy Schedule and ends when you return home after your trip.

Is there a limit to the length of my holiday cover?

Yes, John Lewis Single Trip Travel Insurance covers a holiday up to six months long as long as you’re 64 or younger. If you’re 65 or over, the maximum trip length is 31 days.

For Annual Multi-Trip Cover, the maximum length of each trip is 31 days.

Get a quote
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wrong info received Bought insurance a few weeks ago,given wrong info twice over the phone,eventually spoke to somebody that hopefully knew what they were doing,so had to pay out more money,hopefully won't have to make a claim as you seem to get told different things by different members of staff
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I phoned for a quote and then arranged to ring back when I had thought about it. I rang back and the policy was bought with no trouble at all.
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from golf cover ?? I shopped around to get travel insurance and thought that other companies were expensive. I have my home insurance with John Lewis, so I got travel insurance also. I am disappointed that I couldn't find golf cover on their website, so I looked on my confirmation email after my purchase that it said golf cover is extra.
Date published: 2017-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from helpfully advice I was unsure about one of the medical questions but received good advice from your help centre. I would have bought it direct from her there and then but it was cheaper for me to back and but online. If this is a good product will only be revealed should I need to make claim
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and efficient Easy to form to complete, good level of cover overall good product
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from That was so easy to do We needed to buy travel insurance but knew that my husband having had stents fitted last year and my replacement knee would push up the premium. It did push it up but not as much as I had expected. Other companies might be cheaper but sifting through the small print was hard going. I had used John Lewis Insurance before and so went back to them. I felt confident when I clicked on the "purchase now" button, that I had made the right decision and that if anything went wrong I could depend on John Lewis to help to put thins right.
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy and simple application to complete online.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to set up and get good cover Having had cover previously from a bank, I was looking for a competitive, but comprehensive policy which gave good levels of cover across multiple trips and activities, and the JL policy was the best I found. The web site led you easily through the set-up and the options available, far better than some specialist ones I tried. Getting your documents instantly and summaries to take with you, as well as text reminders of your policy number and contacts at useful bonus features. This policy is everything I expect from JL.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a good experience! I purchased insurance for myself from you, but the next day had to cancel ,because my husbands insurance premium was very high, through yourselves and other Insurers, because of this we were unable to afford the holiday. When I explained this the next day to your representative, I was told there was no possible refund even though we were only one day into the cooling off period. As yet we have not heard from you regarding the cancellation. Ref. JLPC00133553
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Straightforward process, clear and a speedy result
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good insurance I chose John Lewis insurance because I wanted a reliable company and good cover options.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to get cover you want I bought insurance on line and found the process quick and easy - despite having to declare a health problem.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from holiday insurance helpful and pleasant and have used John Lewis previously
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good insurance I bought this, and it gave good cover for the price.
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holiday Insurance I had a medical query for my policy and phoned up on Xmas eve afternoon expecting no answer. Not only did I get an answer but also first class advice on how to select the correct option to cover my needs. Well Done!
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good insurance Easy to get and easy to set up and good communication
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Straightforward purchase I remembered last minute that I needed travel insurance and was pleased with the straightforward purchase.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Travel insurance I bought this prior to visiting Bavaria over the Christmas period. Not the cheapest on the market but I was happy to pay more for peace of mind that all eventuality, plus loss of money would be covered.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easily done Renewed previous annual insurance cover but only you after a break of two months due to a longer trip which would not have been covered as part of this deal. Unfortunately NOT offered such a good deal after the lapse.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Travel insurance
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Insurance Needed to buy a travel insurance policy but due to pre existing conditions had to make a phone call rather than book online. The adviser was very efficient dealt with my query promptly and honoured the discount I would have received had I booked it myself online. Great service.
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Straightforward transaction Really easy to understand and no fuss approach to my purchase
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super holiday insurance Moët cost effective cover including pre existing medical conditions
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Travel Insurance I bought a single trip policy for a European weekend break, good value for money and an excellent choice of cover levels
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from "Does what it says on the tin" I purchased travel insurance for a trip to Italy. I would have given 5 stars, if there had been cover for cancellation due to earthquakes in the area, the day before and the day we went! In the event, we decided to go... and there were several more, including the biggest earthquake since 1980. We would have been covered to come home, but we were only there 4 days ;) Other than that, all as you expect from JLP
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Insurance This is the second year that I have purchased travel insurance from John Lewis. I will carry on using.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible service Very expensive considering the poor service. Despite giving three weeks notice you failed to supply documents. I phoned to explain I hadn't received the document and was assured a new copy would be sent. Again failed. I had to travel with only a reference number. Policy arrived when I was away!
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value for money I bought annual travel insurance (Europe cover) online from John Lewis. By buying online you get a discount and I think it's very good value.
Date published: 2016-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick to buy online!
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from looks good Looks like a clear policy, although its rather long. Was easy to do on the internet and covers what I need. I have some health conditions so have been charged more, which all companies, based in some set questions that really don.t say anything about your state of health ie: does not ask what your Blood Pressure is just if you are on medication for it, if its working you would be less of a health risk, but still get charged more
Date published: 2016-11-02
  • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_205
  • loc_en_GB, sid_TRAVEL_Purchase_PLUS_UK, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jlpfinance
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.2.0.4
  • getReviews, method:CLOUD, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Feedback from our customers helps us offer you the best possible service. The reviews above outline the opinions of our customers, who are asked to consider a range of criteria and to give an overall rating. These views are those of individual customers and are based on their experience of their product, policies and received services.

shaded_divider
John Lewis Foreign Currency

**Plus and Premier policies only.

† Discount is automatically applied to your quote. Discount does not apply to any optional features you select.

*** Terms, conditions, limitations and exclusions apply.